The db era
I'll say this at the start of the article for people who don't know... db stands for diamond block, which at one point was the currency on the server.

Before the db era
Before the db era, there was the government era. The Minister of Trade was yours truly, ChadDX. The reason I started trading was not for personal gain, but instead I figured that it would improve the server and bring people together. Also it would strengthen the power of the government, as those who were on the KOS list were also banned from trading.

At this time I was the main trader, and I'd buy/sell anything I could get my hands on. I figured that diamonds would be the best currency, and pegged them to the unbelievable rate of
1 dia = 16 lapiz = 16 gold = 64 iron.
Looking back I had no idea what I was doing, but I had to start somewhere.

I figured that unless you could buy god gear for diamonds, no one would care about the currency, so I created the account ReklysRekware and devoted my time to crafting god items to sell to other players. Believe it or not, I was selling a set of god armour for only 80 diamonds (or 96 with thorns III on the chestplate). Ordering from me involved telling me what you want by pm, then waiting like a week for me to actually make your stock (I always had orders backed up).

The db era begins
After a while the government fell, and I got bored of spending the majority of my time on the server crafting items for other players. Also 1.9 had just dropped so mending was available as an enchant to put on armour. I decided to raise my prices to 64db per set of armour (this time with mending) and brand it infinity (meaning lasts forever, always in stock). 
To my surprise, the original 6 sets I crafted sold out in about 24 hours. I decided to see how many diamonds I could mine in 1 hour with full hacks, and it turns out the amount was 128db, meaning that in the government era I'd been selling non-mending god armour for a mere 4 minutes of mining time!